THE UNITED STATES COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

PRESS RELEASE

July 23, 2013

Contact:

Ivy Davis Director, Eastern Regional Office 202-376-7756

U. S. Commission on Civil Rights Appoints Members to the New Hampshire State Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON, DC – Marlene Sallo, Staff Director of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, announces the appointment of 17 New Hampshire citizens to the New Hampshire State Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed Sonu S. Bedi of Lebanon, JerriAnne E. Boggis of Milford, Katherine L. Brown of Barrington, Kelly E. Dowd of Jaffrey, Joanne Y. Dowdell of Portsmouth, Joshua C. Elliott-Traficante of Concord, Joanne H. Fortier of Bow, Mahboubul Hassan of Manchester, Barbara Jago of Bedford, Rogers Johnson of Stratham, Ginger H. Lever of Salem, Enrique F. Mesa Jr. of Nashua, Rafael Rojas of Manchester, Kevin H. Smith of Litchfield, Carol M. Stamatakis of Newport, Alejandro J. Urrutia of Hudson and Jacquelyne K.Weatherspoon of Exeter to the New Hampshire Advisory Committee. The Commission appointed JerriAnne Boggis as Chair. The appointments are for two years. Members of State Advisory Committees serve without compensation.

Congress directed the Commission to establish advisory committees in all states and the District of Columbia to assist in its fact-finding function. The function of each state advisory committee is to hold regular meetings to gather and assess reliable information from many sources relating to civil rights concerns within that state, to write reports with recommendations based on its findings, and to forward the reports to the Commission for publication.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin R. Castro, Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom, Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, David Kladney and Michael Yaki. Commission meetings are open to the general public. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov.