Contact: Joe Kim publicaffairs@usccr.gov



U.S. Commission on Civil Rights appoints Members for State Advisory Committees

On Friday, March 21, 2025, the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights held a business meeting where the Commissioners voted on and approved the new appointments of members for four State Advisory Committees. The Advisory Committees that were appointed are Georgia, Illinois, Oregon, and South Carolina.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights maintains 56 Advisory Committees—one in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the five U.S. territories. Mandated by Congress, these bipartisan committees conduct studies on civil rights issues within their geographic jurisdictions.

Over the past year, Advisory Committees have released reports on a wide range of topics, including housing discrimination, disparities in pediatric healthcare, artificial intelligence in K-12 education, access to legal counsel, barriers to services for students with disabilities, teacher shortages, fair housing practices, the child welfare system's impact on Black families, mental health care in juvenile justice systems, and accessibility challenges for individuals with disabilities.

In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports often contribute to policy changes at the national, state, and local levels. More information about the work of the Commission's Advisory Committees can be found <u>here</u>.

The following are the newly appointed members in their respective Advisory Committees.

Georgia:

- Wenyuan Wu, *Chair*
- William Brown
- Tangelita Bush
- Jordan Carpenter
- Benita Cotton-Orr
- Nabilah Islam Parkes
- Christopher Martin
- Camilla Moore
- DeAndre S Pickett
- Lynn Edward Richburg
- Berenice Rodriguez
- Ashoo Sharma
- Michael Valdes
- Samuel West

Illinois:

- Ivy Sack, *Chair*
- Jason Cayanan
- Cecilia Salinas Camacho
- Todd Henderson
- Andrew Matthews
- Creighton Meland, Jr.
- Clare Myers
- Karen Moore
- Richard Omoniyi-Shoyola
- Elizabeth Oyeda Jiminez
- Matthew Paprocki
- Gregory Sanford
- Cary Shelby
- William Weicher

Oregon:

- Tristen Edwards, *Chair*
- Anna Allen
- Mitchell (Buchi) Asemota
- Jason Dudash
- Mickie Derting
- Ana Lucia Fonseca Tapia
- Erick Haynie
- Isaac Helland
- James Kilcup
- Marcela Mendoza
- Mika Ingram
- Avishai Schermerhorn
- Jeanine Stice
- Cyrus Ward

South Carolina:

- Jonathan Butcher, Chair
- Tony Anthony Foster
- Meredith Hope Blackley
- Brenton Brown
- Matthew Cavedon
- Daniella Ann Cook
- Wendy Damron
- Ebony Green
- Yvonne Miller
- William Oden
- Claire Atwood
- Seth Stoughton
- Ivan Segura
- Dori Spittel Tempio

Stay abreast of updates at *<u>www.usccr.gov</u>* and on <u>*X*</u>, *<u>Facebook</u>, <u><i>LinkedIn*</u> and <u>*Bluesky*</u>.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 56 state Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. For information about the Commission, please visit <u>www.usccr.gov</u>.