Contact: Joe Kim publicaffairs@usccr.gov



U.S. Commission on Civil Rights appoints Members for State Advisory Committees

On Friday, April 11, 2025, the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights held a business meeting where the Commissioners voted on and approved the new appointments of members for five State Advisory Committees. The Advisory Committees that were appointed are West Virginia, Alaska, Florida, Maryland, and Virginia.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights maintains 56 Advisory Committees—one in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the five U.S. territories. Mandated by Congress, these bipartisan committees conduct studies on civil rights issues within their geographic jurisdictions.

Over the past year, Advisory Committees have released reports on a wide range of topics, including housing discrimination, disparities in pediatric healthcare, artificial intelligence in K-12 education, access to legal counsel, barriers to services for students with disabilities, teacher shortages, fair housing practices, the child welfare system's impact on Black families, mental health care in juvenile justice systems, and accessibility challenges for individuals with disabilities.

In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports often contribute to policy changes at the national, state, and local levels. More information about the work of the Commission's Advisory Committees can be found here.

The following are the newly appointed members in their respective Advisory Committees.

West Virginia:

- Adam Kissel, Chair
- Stephanie Thorton
- Fanica Pavne
- J Mark Adkins
- Kristi Dumas
- Kent George
- Roger Hanshaw
- Emily Minick
- Jonathan (Zach) Ritchie
- Jennifer Sano-Franchini
- Sarah Wagner
- Gabriele Wohl

Alaska:

- Carole Holley, *Chair*
- Jennifer Adams
- Elizabeth Blaine Seliotes
- Chad Emswiler
- Nelson Godoy
- Forest Haven
- Cynthia Henry
- Christina Love
- Keith Manternach
- Kathryn McCollum
- Alexander Toth
- Jason Warfield

Florida:

- Ebonni Chrispin
- Chevalier Lovett
- Brad McVay

Maryland:

- Georgia Coffey
- Thomas Dineen

Virginia:

• Nicholas Down

Stay abreast of updates at www.usccr.gov and on X, Facebook, LinkedIn and Bluesky.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 56 state Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. For information about the Commission, please visit www.usccr.gov.