## THE UNITED STATES COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

.....

## PRESS RELEASE

January 14, 2014

## **Contact**:

Malee V. Craft Director, Rocky Mountain Regional Office (303) 866-1040

## U. S. Commission on Civil Rights Appoints North Dakota State Advisory Committee Members

**WASHINGTON, DC** – Marlene Sallo, Staff Director of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, has announced the appointment of 14 North Dakota citizens to the North Dakota State Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights.

The Commission appointed Cheryl Bergian of Fargo, Marc S. Bluestone of New Town, Sandra J. Boehler of Fargo, Crystal Dueker of Fargo, Carol Eve Good Bear of New Town, Robert S. Herren of Fargo, Stephanie A. Johnson of Grand Forks, Cheryl Ann Kary of Bismarck, David G. Lanpher of Fargo, David A. Meier of Dickinson, Constance (Connie) L. Nelson of Fargo, Refugio "Pete" Padilla of Devils Lake, Jordan T. Schuetzle of Grand Forks, and Mark F. Tobin of Grand Forks. The Commission appointed Cheryl Ann Kary as Chair. The appointments are for two years and members serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to advise the Commission on matters relating to discrimination under U.S. civil rights laws, or denial of equal protection under the U.S. Constitution. The State Advisory Committees receive reports, suggestions, and recommendations from individuals, public and private organizations, and public officials on civil rights matters pertinent to SAC investigations.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin R. Castro, and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, David Kladney and Michael Yaki. Commission meetings are open to the general public. The Commission's website is <a href="http://www.usccr.gov">http://www.usccr.gov</a>.